Skip to content

World’s EASIEST Yellow Cake

July 21, 2012

20120721-140450.jpg

I didn’t invent this recipe but when I found it online via google docs, and then tried it at home, I knew I had to share my discovery.

It dates from years ago, apparently, from McCall’s Magazine.

And it’s just as easy as cake from a mix, but better — because you can take pride in knowing it’s an honest to goodness scratch cake.

Also, I’m still so in love with the salted caramel frosting I posted elsewhere on the blog, I once again used it here.

But what ever frosting you use, enjoy this little slice of heaven.

You’ll Need:

2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/4 cup sugar

1 tbs baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 stick butter, softened

1 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

A sieve

A mixer & mixing bowl

2 layer cake pans, buttered & floured

Wire racks for cooling the cakes

Steps:

1. Preheat the oven to 350.

2. In the sieve combine the flour, sugar, baking powder & salt, and sift these ingredients into the bowl of the mixer.

3. Add the softened butter, milk & vanilla and beat on high for 2 minutes.

4. Add the eggs & beat on high another 2 minutes.

5. Turn the batter out equally into the two prepared layer cake pans.

6. Bake 30 – 35 minutes, until a toothpick comes out dry when inserted in the center of each cake.

7. Cool the cakes in the pans for 10 minutes, then turn out onto wire racks & cool completely before frosting.

One Comment
  1. Kathryb permalink

    I just had to comment and let you know how absolutely awesome this recipe is! I normally can’t stand cake mixes from scratch, they just taste…..wierd…..to me, but this one was awesome! The onlychange I made was using powdered sugar. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

