Skip to content

Vitamix Adventures in Smoothie World

July 4, 2012

20120704-113331.jpg

A few weeks ago I did something a little decadent: I bought myself a Vitamix.

If you’re not familiar with the Vitamix, it’s essentially a ridiculously priced blender on steroids.

I’d been considering — and rejecting — the purchase for some time. Even after my then 6 year old Osterizer broke last year, I opted to locate & install a replacement part instead.

But then my Osterizer broke a second time a few weeks ago. One of the three whirling blades inside it just totally blew off while blending. I found it while drinking my smoothie. If I hadn’t been using a straw, that very sharp piece of metal would have wound up inside me rather than just inside my drinking glass.

It was time for the Vitamix.

Smoothies aren’t all this gizmo can do, of course, but it’s all I’ve done with it so far.

For years now, I’ve started every smoothie with a scoop of vanilla Spirutein protein powder. It’s a neutral but sweet base that lends real creaminess & that’s loaded with nutrition.

Another essential ingredient is frozen fruit. Fresh fruit has a big role too, but frozen adds a fabulosity that mere ice cubes just can’t duplicate.

For the liquid, I used to rely on store bought fruit juice. But here’s the thing about that kind of juice: it doesn’t have the fiber whole fruit does.

But with the Vitamix, you can toss in a peeled orange or grapefruit, whole & full of great fiber, and it’s thoroughly integrated with the other ingredients. No regular blender can do that.

Course you can still add a little juice for yet another layer of flavor, but simple cold water works just great.

But by far the biggest change since Vitamix: I’ve also been adding vegetables, because with this powerhouse blender, they truly become one with all the other ingredients.

One day I added zucchini. The next carrots. The day after lettuce.

In short, it’s healthfulness in a big tall glass of cold thick deliciousness!

Today’s Smoothie (serves 2)

1 banana

1 handful blueberries

1 peeled navel orange, broken into 2 sections

1 peeled carrot

1 handful lettuce

2 scoops Spitutein

2 handfuls frozen strawberries

1 1/2 cups water

1/3 cup cranberry juice

And here’s a great rundown on how to experiment with your own smoothie concoctions.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

