Skip to content

Mostly Homemade Salted Caramel Frosting

June 30, 2012

20120630-154649.jpg

I was looking at a recipe for salted caramel frosting, drooling, and though I wanted to make it right away, I just didn’t feel like working that hard to make the caramel.

So I decided to try a bit of a cheat: using store bought caramel sauce instead.

It worked great!

You’ll Need:

1 cup BEST QUALITY store bought caramel sauce

3/4 tsp salt

2 sticks butter at room temperature

8 oz cream cheese at room temperature

1 box (1 lb) confectioners sugar, sifted

A mixer & mixing bowl

Steps:

1. Combine the butter & cream cheese in the mixing bowl & beat at high speed until smooth & creamy.

2. Add 2 cups of confectioners sugar & beat until smooth.

3. Add the caramel sauce & salt & continue to beat until well blended.

4. Add the rest of the confectioners sugar, beating well, until smooth & creamy.

To carry all that yummy frosting, try this simple Classic White Layer Cake from Epicurious. It’s delish! (NOTE: Reviews of the cake recipe suggest changing it slightly: whipping the egg whites & folding them in to lighten things up. I think it’s a great suggestion & I plan to do that next time.)

5 Comments
  1. Michelle permalink

    Did you use dulce de leche for the caramel sauce?

    • Author permalink

      I didn’t but what an interesting idea! I’ll try that next time :)

  2. This is gorgeous! You are amazing, wish I can do something like that too! =)

  3. Jenny permalink

    Any tips on getting this frosting thick? Followed recipe yet it is pretty runny. Tastes wonderful though!

    • Author permalink

      I had a similar experience the first time I made it and increased the confectioners. I’m also considering tweaking the recipe. Perhaps a combo of a bit less caramel, a bit less butter, and a bit more confectioners.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

